Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Check out our YouTube Channel

New Wilderness areas for South Dakota

Environmental groups propose designation of 13 areas
Thirteen new areas in South Dakota have been proposed to be designated as Wilderness by the South Dakota Wildlife Federation, the Sierra Club and the Wilderness Society. The areas include sections of the National Grasslands, the Cave Hills and Slim Buttes areas, and land owned by the Bureau of Land Management in the northwest corner of the state.

When Congress passed the Wilderness Act in 1964, it enabled government agencies such as the Forest Service, Park Service and Bureau of Land Management to set aside lands that were untrampled by modern civilization, and manage and preserve them as truly wild areas.

Eleven counties and the South Dakota Farm Bureau are opposing the bill. They say the current multiple use management is working, and it shouldn't be changed. The reward for successful multiple use management shouldn't be its cessation.

If you would like to voice your opinion about designated Wilderness in South Dakota contact:

Sen. Tom Daschle
509 Hart Office Building
Washington D.C. 20510
Sen. Tim Johnson
136 Hart Office Building
Washington D.C. 20510
Want to leave a comment?
Only registered members of are allowed to leave comments. Registration is FREE and only takes a couple minutes.

Login or Register now.
Sign up for our free newsletter